30 Years Ago: Rowes have ‘Yard Beautiful’

One Year Ago
The 2012 Pineywoods Cattle Baron’s Gala committee selects caterer Eddie Deen and Company’s food that will host the annual gala at the Moore Farm.
Todd & Linda Willis of Diboll announce the engagement of their daughter, Haleigh Willis, to Ryan Cook of Groesbeck, son of Randy and Kim Cook of Kosse.
Diboll Housing Authority and Diboll Christian Outreach Center host semi-annual Indoor Picnic for Diboll senior citizens at the Lottie & Arthur Temple Civic Center.
Bonzo Crunch, a professional clown, performs for the Children’s Summer Reading Program at the T.L.L.Temple Memorial Library in Diboll. There were 77 children in attendance.
Dana Helton, certified yoga instructor, opens up studio at 210 Timberland Drive in Lufkin.

Five Years Ago
Diboll City Council after contentious debate and three votes, award contract to build an amphitheater in Old Orchard Park.
Diboll High School Senior Mandi Lovett is the recipient of the Lufkin Junior League Scholarship.
ESPN names Diboll High School Lady Jack basketball great Nikki Greene to its ESPN Top 100 Hoop Girlz and number 28 in the nation for girls basketball.
The “Free Press” part of the Diboll Free Press turns 50 years old. In July 1958, the Diboll News-Bulletin changed its name to the Angelina County Free Press.
Annie Sue Emmons and a group of residents of Willie Massey Street in southwest Diboll successfully protest the construction of new homes in their neighborhood to the Diboll city council.

Ten Years Ago
Angelina County officials state they plan to hire a county stockman or animal control officer to work cases of stray animals in rural areas of the county outside of city limits.
Randy George, Lufkin community businessman and civic leader, is this year’s recipient of the Silver Spike Award for his outstanding service to the community.
Zavalla Fire Department receives $52,406 Assistance to Firefighter Grant from the Department of Homeland Security.
Temple-Inland’s Brian Wilson is promoted to the position of marketing manager, Industrial Products.
Lone Star Chapter of the Sierra Club honors Lufkin businessman Richard Donovan with the Evelyn Edens Award for River Protection.

Twenty Years Ago
Attending twirling camp at Diboll High School are April McClain, Necia Young, Angie Luce, Mandy Bowman and Michelle Cordell.
Cheryl Schmidt Suiter, wife of Diboll Police Sergeant Wes Suiter and daughter of Charles & Carolyn Schmidt and Neal and Frances Stephens of Lufkin, receives her doctor of medicine degree from University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.
Diboll ISD board of trustees names Cathie Cain as its new Diboll High School band director.
Members of the Diboll Youth League (7-8) Rangers are Cody Gonzales, Adrian Perez, Ismael Terrazas, Juan Salas, David Sandoval, Clifford Jones, Edward Tovar, Joseph Hambrick and Coaches Randy Hambrick and Vernon “Red” Oaks.
Diboll’s Nita Ramsey Hurley performs at Carnegie Concert Hall with Angelina Chambers Singers.

Thirty Years Ago
Bryan Faircloth of Diboll joins RepublicBank as mortgage loan officer.
Winners in the 1983 Diboll Recreation Department’s Summer Program are JonAnna Bradford, Miss Diboll Recreation Department; Lulu Hamilton, Miss Personality; Celsa Reyes, Miss Smile; Brette Dunlap, Miss Talent; and Katherine Ledford, Miss Diboll Recreation Department runnerup.
TV Cable of Diboll office in Diboll closes. Capital Cities Communications takes over cable system but you can pay your cable bill at Conner’s Western Auto Store.
Diboll Garden Club selects the yard of Mr. & Mrs. Jack Rowe as “Yard Beautiful” in the northeast section of Diboll.
Diboll Dixie Boys League Indians team consist of Dustin Ford, James Teal, Rolando Torres, Rogelio Reyes, Barry Morin, Hector Javier, Steven McClintock, Chad Conner, Ernesto Aguilar, Christopher Grant, Eric Teal, Eric Harrison, Lee Jay Lazarine and Coaches Leroy Lazarine and James McClintock.