Photo Courtesy of The History Center
Thirty Years Ago This Week
The Good Girls softball team of the Diboll Youth League this year includes (front row) Donna Mark, Lucy Lopez, Sharon Canada, Missy Cavasas and Patti Alexander. Standing are Coach Gwendy Hicks, Kelly Hicks, Mary Guerra, Charlotte Grant, Lenora Levine, Pam Fenley, Sheila Johnson and Coach Brenda Kee.

30 Years Ago: Train cars derail in Burke

One Year Ago
2012 Diboll High School cheerleaders consist of Isabella Tamez, Audrey Tamez, Michaela Wagner, Katy Dubose, Anahi Blee, Abbie Kettering, Jordan Eldridge, Alexis Rios, Mikayla Sudduth, Jayden Springs, Meghan Wagner and Michaela Tolley.
The 2012 Diboll Day grand prize this year is a beautiful, exciting fire-engine red Chevrolet Camero.
Eastview Pentecostal Church in Lufkin host 9th annual Autumn Praises Women’s Conference.
First day school numbers at Diboll ISD comes in at 1,919, up 43 students from the same time last year of 1,876.
Diboll ISD administration to review/study feasibility of adding a Building Trades Program for the 2013-2014 school year.
2012 Girls/Boys Cross Country track team members at Diboll High School are Rachel Martinez, Ariela Gonzales, Ivy Acevedo, Jayden Springs, Madison Neyland, Breahno Cordova, Jose Flores, Andrew Hernandez, Hector Lopez, Stephen Badeaux, T. J. Garcia, Omar Solis, Juan Garcia, Fil Escobido, Brandon Hunziker, Jose Garcia, Caleb Stewart, Leo Rodriquez and Antonio Encarnacion.

Five Years Ago
Diboll Police Chief Kent Havard presents city council a draft of a juvenile curfew ordinance that is needed to cut down summer time vandalism.
Diboll and Temple-Inland is losing longtime couple, Linda and Bill Fulmer, as both are recent retirees and will be moving to new home in Kerrville, Texas.
Fifty-three kids attend the Lufkin Junior League’s Camp Get Fit. The program is developed to teaching youngsters about health, nutrition and fitness.
8th grade Back to School Shootout basketball champs are Jada Larue, Paige James, Kristen Simmons, Qwen Walls, Naya Bryant, Kayle Deason, Brittany Forney, Ashley Henderson, Jasmine Bray, Kendall Mitchell and Head Coach Eric Hernandez.
Temple-Inland Building Products Division donates $1,000 for sponsorship of the 2008 Temple Cup Invitational Golf Tournament held at Crown Colony Country Club in Lufkin.

Ten Years Ago
The seventh annual KSWP/KAVX Radio Fan Fair is huge success, collecting 400 fans and 22 air conditioners to be distributed to needy.
On a split vote, the Angelina County Commissioners Court approve $13.9 million county budget for 2004 and okayed a 3.6% tax hike to fund it.
Lufkin Fire Department receives $225,000 Assistance to Firefighters Grant to purchase new fire- fighting equipment.
Lufkin’s Pinewood Park Learning Center’s Summer Reading Program winners include Cristoshovi Rogers, Brittanee Lewis, Jacorey Jackson and Zachery Jackson.
Jay Shands and Trey Denman of First Bank & Trust East Texas in Diboll receives first of the new library cards at of the T.L.L. Temple Memorial Library. First Bank & Trust East Texas funded the change-over from paper to plastic cards.
Twenty Years Ago
Diboll City Council votes unanimously to accept the bid of Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Texas for health insurance coverage for city employees.
Jacks bow to Tatum in football scrimmage, 4-1. Running backs look good but Diboll shut out through the air.
Jim Scheibner wins Championship Flight of the Annual Members Club Championship Golf Tournament held at Neches Pine in Diboll. Scheibner finishes tied with John Oats and Malcolm Still but wins playoff.
Diboll, Lufkin and Huntington are featured in the premier issue of Nick Wolda’s East Texas Sports Magazine.
Temple-Inland Forest Products Fiber Division announces the promotion of Jeff Adams to process improvement manager and Jack Phillips as logistics manager.

Thirty Years Ago
Fifteen railcars of a Southern Pacific freight train derail at Burke due to an unusual amount of slack in the train.
Central administrative staff at the Diboll school system this year is composed of Lucy Rector, tax office director; Joyce Carr, bookkeeper; Ruby Smith, secretary to the superintendent; Dixie McDuffie, director of cafeterias; Ervin Dubose, director of special programs; James Dunlap, business manager; Fran Lavergne, curriculum supervisor; Nancy Miller, school nurse; and Don Robbins, superintendent.
St. Regis Corporation schedules production downtime at its Lufkin newsprint mill. The downtime is due to a need for maintenance work and inventory adjustment at the mill.
Newly elected officers of the Diboll Lions Club include James Porter, president; Leroy Lazarine, 1st vice president; Jerry Gartman, 2nd vice president; David King, treasurer; and Don Hendrick, tail twister.
A bridal shower for Melinda Wheeler, bride-elect of Richard Albrecht, Jr. is hosted at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Don Robbins.