30 Years Ago: Denise Capps is Homecoming Queen

One Year Ago

Emily Parish is the 2012 Diboll Day Queen as she raised $54,629 and the other queen candidates raised helped raise the total to $168,128.

Diboll City Council approved a grant that will pay for resurfacing of Hendrick Street. This street will also be used as an evacuation route.

Tanika Bray is named Diboll High School 2012 Homecoming Queen.

Turnovers continue to plague Diboll as the Tatum Eagles spoil the Lumberjack’s homecoming with a 38-6 win.

Diboll PTSA (Parents, Teachers, Students Association) Community Birthday Calendars are now on sale for $5.


Five Years Ago

Former Diboll High School and Stephen F. Austin State University basketball great Kevin Hurley is inducted in to the SFASU’s Sports Hall of Fame.

Ashley Wilson is the 2008 Diboll Day Queen. The queen candidates raised $118,619.64.

Thomas Lee, Diboll sixth-grader wins the Pepsi NFL Punt, Pass and Kick competition held in Lufkin for his age group (10-11) and will advance to the regional competition in Longview.

Tyra Stewart is crowned 2008 Diboll High School Homecoming Queen.

Jacks Wac Nac! The Diboll Lumberjacks celebrate their historic 30-14 victory over the Nacogdoches Dragons in front of record-setting crowd that brought in over $12,000 in gate receipts.

City of Diboll receives $100,000 grant from the T.L.L. Temple Foundation to purchase additional generators to be used in the well fields.


Ten Years Ago

Defense Department ok’s PAC-3 funding. Lufkin’s Lockheed-Martin plant will continue missile construction.

The 2003-2004 Diboll High School Drug Free All-Stars include Scarlett Hankla, Abby Anthony, Cameron Hunter, Jonathan Hones, Heather Warren, Denise Ward, Megan Baldree, Stephanie Abbott, Trey McWilliams and Trey Brown.

Diboll’s Pink Pearl E-Racers are currently the no. 1 American Cancer Society Relay for Life team in Texas. Team members include Tammy Droste, Lewis Ivey, David Droste, JoAnn Grigson, Vernon Ivey, Jimmie Beth Palomera, Fran Mayo, James Mayo Susan Wells, Susan Schinke, Sandra Minton, Alton ‘Mutt’ Minton, Stacy Minton and Lisa Crager.

Woodland Heights Medical Center show case its new state-of-the-art Cardiac Catheterization Department, the first of its kind between Tyler and Houston.

John and Elaine Smith of Diboll celebrate their 30th wedding anniversary with reception hosted by their daughters and surrounded by family and friends.


Twenty Years Ago

Dr. Gary Campbell, principal at Diboll High School is named to succeed Bill Ward as the next superintendent of schools for Diboll ISD.

Longtime narcotic investigator Hershel Erwin is named to head the new police academy which will begin in January at Angelina College.

Sarah Knutson, daughter of Linda & Chris Knutson, wins the title “Mini- Forest Festival Queen” at the Texas Forest Festival.

Members of the Diboll Garden Club donate two benches and bird feeder to the South Meadows Nursing Home in Diboll. Connie Courtney is the president of the Diboll Garden Club.

Crockett High School Bulldogs prove too tough for Jacks as Diboll is beaten by the score of 40-6 in football action.

Number 10 ranked Longview hands Lufkin a 23-7 defeat in district opener.

Thirty Years Ago

Denise Capps is the 1983 Diboll High School Homecoming Queen.

Members of the 1983-84 Diboll High School Flag Corps are Andra Willmon, G.G. Denman, Robin Squyres, Peggie Lewis and Autumn Capps.

American Legion Post Commander Howard Walker continues his efforts to identify members of the military who gave their lives during World War II, Korean War and the Vietnam War.

Housing and Urban Development sees no danger in asbestos use in Diboll’s public housing.

Angelina County officials learn that the county may have to purchase another 4-8 acres of land adjacent to the county airport if a planned future runway extension is constructed.

Lufkin Music Club celebrates its 60th anniversary with reception in the home of Mrs. Virginia Douglas. Linda Dorsett is this year’s president of the Lufkin Music Club.