Primary filing winds down; local races contested

With less than a week left to file to run for political office in the 2014 Primary Election, several local positions are being contested.

The filing deadline is Dec. 9. Early voting is Feb. 18, 2014, through Feb. 28, 2014. Election Day is March 4, 2014.

County commissioner for Precinct 4, which covers Diboll, is once again a sought-after position with incumbent Scott Cooper being challenged by fellow Republicans Bill Brown and Bobby Cheshire.

Incumbent Esther Barger has filed as a Republican for Precinct 4 justice of the peace.

Incumbent Bradley Stringer and Pat Grubbs have filed as Republicans for Precinct 3 justice of the peace.

Other candidates who have filed for county races are:

County judge, Republican – Wes Suiter;

County treasurer, Republican — incumbent Deborah Huffman;

County clerk, Republican — Crystal Brent and Amy Fincher;

District clerk, Republican — incumbent Reba Ellison Squyers;

County Court-at-Law No. 1 judge, Republican — Todd Kassaw and Joe Lee Register;

County Court-at-Law No. 2 judge, Republican – incumbent Derek Flournoy;

Precinct 1 county commissioner, Republican — Kyle Looney, Greg Harrison and incumbent Steve Allen;

Precinct 2 county commissioner, Republican – David Stua;

Precinct 2 county commissioner, Democrat – incumbent Kenneth Timmons;

Precinct 1 justice of the peace, Republican — incumbent Billy Ball;

Precinct 2 justice of the peace, Republican — incumbent Donnie Puckett;

159th District Court judge, Republican — incumbent Paul E. White;

217th District Court judge, Republican — Bob Inselmann.

Where to file

Republican Primary — 118 S. Second St. in Lufkin. Office hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays through Friday and 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Monday, Dec. 9. For more information, call Angelina County Primary Chair Robert Flournoy at 936- 639-4466.

Democratic Primary – Lufkin Labor Temple, 1111 Old Gobblers Knob Road. Office hours are 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. weekdays through Friday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday, Dec. 9. For more information , call Angelina County Democratic Chair James Wark at 936-635-3584 or the Democratic Primary Office at 699-3367.

Local state races

District 57 state representative, Republican – incumbent Trent Ashby;

District 3 state senator, Republican – incumbent Robert Nichols.

Statewide offices


U.S. Senator


Republican: John Cornyn, Dwayne Stovall and Chris Mapp


Democrat: Maxey Marie Sch-err and Michael “Fjet” Fjetland




Republican: Lisa Fritsch, Secede Kilgore, Miriam Martinez and Greg Abbott


Democrat: Wendy R. Davis and Reynaldo “Ray” Madrigal


Lieutenant Governor


Republican: Todd Staples, Jerry Patterson and David Dewhurst


Democrat: Leticia Van de Putte


Attorney General


Republican: Barry Smitherman, Ken Paxton and Dan Branch


Democrat: Sam Houston


Comptroller of Public Accounts


Republican: Glenn Hegar, Debra Medina and Harvey Hilderbran


Democrat: Mike Collier


Commissioner of the General Land Office


Republican: David Watts and George P. Bush


Democrat: John Cook


Commissioner of Agriculture


Republican: Eric Opiela, Tommy Merritt, Sid Miller, J. Allen Carnes


Democrat: Jim Hogan


Railroad Commissioner


Republican: Malachi Boyuls


Democrat: Steve Brown


Justice, 12th Court of Appeals


Republican: Jim Worthen