30 Years Ago: Diboll holding election for bingo

One Year Ago
Jacks’ 3-0 win over the Hudson Hornets propel the team into the regional semi-finals against Huffman-Hargrave in New Caney.
City of Diboll approves requesting $84,000 from the T.L.L. Temple Foundation for sound/lighting improvements for the Lottie & Arthur Temple Civic Center.
Diboll ISD employee Bea Suarez retires after 36 years with reception hosted by family and friends.
2013-2014 Diboll High School cheerleaders include Katy Dubose, Mikayla Tolly, Amanda Faircloth, Mikayla Sudduth, Meghan Wagner, Jordan Eldridge, Aubrie Arellano, Presley Havard, Esmeralda Tamez, Jayden Spring, Alexis Rios and Abbie Kettering.
Burke Masonic Lodge #833 provides free tooth decay kits to first-graders at Temple Elementary School sponsored by The Fantastic Teeth Fan Club.

Five Years Ago
Diboll First Assembly of God Church marks Monday’s Memorial Day holiday weekend by posting white crosses to mark the veterans who have given their lives for their country.
Angelina County Sheriff’s Department continues to investigate the death of Diboll resident Brent West on Texas State Highway 94 next to Neches River bridge.
Huddle House Restaurant chain seeks franchise agreement with someone in the Diboll area for one of its restaurant.
Diboll City Council decides district slots- Dist. 1, Ricky Conner; Dist. 2, Larry Cook; Dist. 3, Don Hendrick; Dist. 4, Gary Jones; Dist. 5 at-large, Fred Mitchell; and Dist. 6 at-large slot will be determine later this month.
Diboll Lady Jacks’ track/field team finishes second at Regional meet with 47 points.
Ten Years Ago
Diboll High School Seniors Audrey Denise Ward and Heather Lindsey Warren receive the 2004 Temple-Inland Foundation Scholarship.
Hundreds attend Pine Valley Raceway as it hosts grand open. The raceway boasts of its 1,500 grandstand seats/suites that are available for rental and its 3,500 foot length track.
Diboll High School Male Athlete of the Year, District MVP Luis Rios and female athlete standout Cassandra Krell, make trip to the state track meet.
Rotarians from Philippines visit The History Center when Diboll Rotarians hosted the team for the day.
2004 Diboll High School baseball team include Jeremy Tamez, Trey Williams, Luis Santana, Pedro Palomino, Jaime Garcia, Jonathan Jones, Trey Jones, Dillon Tobias, Robin Robinson, Assistant Coach Eugene Sandova and Head Coach Terry Johnson.

Twenty Years Ago
Diboll Pilot Club members Sharon Brown, Alma Breazeale & Bettie Havard attend the Pilot Club’s 57th annual District Convention in Dallas.
Diboll High School graduating seniors are recognized and honored during morning worship service at First Baptist Church of Diboll. Seniors include Roger Smart, Rebekka Nix, Stacey Taylor, Jennifer Cayton, Marsha Toler, Lea Ann Hendrick, Daniel Harris and Robin Barger.
Longtime Dibollians, civic leaders & business couple Arlie B. and Jessie Conner celebrate 50 years of wedded bliss with reception hosted by family and friends.
Diboll’s outstanding track star Joseph Phipps places fifth with a time of 14.6 seconds in the 110 meter hurdles at the Class 3A state track meet in Austin.
Bonner Roofing & Metal, Inc. of Lufkin turns in low bid of $30,020 for the replacement of Diboll Police Department building roof and is unanimously accepted.

Thirty Years Ago
Diboll Booster Club approves funds to spend on playground equipment for two city parks and for screens on three of the four youth league ball fields.
Named 1984 Mr. and Miss Diboll High School are Ted Cheavens and Denise Capps.
City of Diboll celebrates opening of the city pools with Splash Day ceremonies. Fees have changed for this year. Old Orchard Park increase fee to $1 (adults), 75 cents (children) and 50 cents for very young children; swim fees at Walter Allen Park will remain at 75 cents for adults and 35 cents for children under 15 years of age.
City of Diboll will hold special local-option bingo election, August 11, the first step in having bingo games at Diboll Day again this year.
Lufkin High School Panther Pride Dance/Drill Team officers for 1984-1985 school year includes Capt. Robin Goodwin, Lieutenants Lisa McLin, Lisa Parker, Pam Cloyd, Tracye Holcomb, Rebecca Shelton and Gina McGilvra.