Diboll Garden Club finishes successful year, elects officers

In a shaded, beautifully decorated outdoor setting at the home of Mary Ingram on May 28, the Diboll Garden Club finished a successful year with a lovely luncheon provided by Marteres Tea Room. Assisting Ingram as co-hostesses were Clara Breazeale, Garvis Baldree, and guest Julia McKelvey. Pretty pink umbrellas, pearls and mirrors followed the theme later used for officer installation.
President JoAnn Rainwater introduced Betty Adler and Gloria Ogden as new members and also recognized Julia McKelvey as a guest of Mrs. Ingram.  Following roll call, Betty Hendrick read minutes of the April 23 meeting which were approved as read.  The treasurer’s report was delayed because of Sue Beaty’s absence.  Sympathy was expressed on her behalf for the passing away of her husband, Jack.
Appreciation was noted for those who participated in the civic project judging Yard Beautiful; following that, Fran Rodriguez gave updates on ill members or those recently grieving.
A sign-up sheet for hosting next year’s meetings, as well as ideas for future programs and trips, was distributed with encouragement to provide information to the newly elected co-vice presidents in charge of programs.
The question was raised whether members might be more amendable to serving as officers if the term was for one year instead of for two.  After a brief discussion, it was decided to table this for a future time.
Before the new officer installation, Rainwater thanked the current officers for their service to the club and community and presented each a gift. In turn, Dolly Whitaker presented Rainwater a gift on behalf of the club. Gloria Ogden and Betty Hendrick were the recipients of door prizes.
Using a theme of mirrors and how they reflect who we are and what an officer does in service to the garden club, Betty Hendrick installed the officers for 2013-2015.  These are as follows: JoAnn Rainwater, president; Kathy Sample and Gay Storch, co-vice presidents; Carolyn Hutson, secretary; and Sue Beaty, treasurer.
Members in attendance were: Betty Adler, Garvis Baldree, Clara Breazeale, Peggy Burt, Ginger Capps, Joyce Carr, Dianne Gipson, Bettye Greer, Betty Hendrick, Nita Hurley, Carolyn Hutson, Mary Ingram, Sophie Lenderman, Fran McClain, Linda Miller, Gloria Neel, Gloria Ogden, Sandra Pouland, JoAnn Rainwater, Fran Rodriguez, Kathy Sample, Chubby Slack, Gay Storch, Aline Stovall, Ima Weisinger, Dolly Whitaker, Tellie Williams, and Billie Willmon.

Meeting hostesses, from left, are Garvis Baldree, Mary Ingram, and Clara Breazeale
Meeting hostesses, from left, are Garvis Baldree, Mary Ingram, and Clara Breazeale