30 Years Ago: Jacks picked to win dtrict

Bug repellent clothing makeup with hyaluronic acid tetracycline medication Lamictal no prescription minoxidil azelaic acid acyclovir medicine
Photo Courtesy of The Htory Center
Thirty Years Ago Th Week
Diboll Golf Course Manager Dewey Wolf looks over the new yardage markers recently provided the golf course by a number of local businesses, made of sturdy, routed and mounted to concrete, the signs show an outline of each hole and all hazards on that hole.

One Year Ago
Diane Tate and Mike Gibson are united in marriage at the Diboll First Methodt Church.
Diboll High School 7-on-7 football team competes in the Texas State 7-on-7 Championships losing in the consolation bracket to Lexington, 33-12. Team members include Dayton Shupak, Austin Alvarez, Jacob Stifle, Jason Cook, Zane Blount, Reagan Walton, Carlos Lew, Carlos Teal, Chrtian Palacio, Lee Hernandez, Jarv Shepherd, Raive Sheppard and Jay Lee.
Juan Sarmiento th week’s winner of $100 from Twice the Ice promotion in Diboll.
East Texas Printing, long-stay business in Diboll moves to new location in Lufkin at 1601 W. Frank Street.
Torrid rain storm comes through Diboll with high winds and leaving 3.89 inches of rain with power outage throughout the county.

Five Years Ago
Diboll’s Linkin Frankens celebrates first birthday. Proud Mom/Dad are Holly & Tim Frankens.
Texas Htorical Commsion designates Berry Cemetery as a Htoric State Cemetery. Berry Cemetery located on FM 842.
Diboll High School 7-on-7 football team falls 41-40 at the Southwest 7-0n-7 State Championship to Celina. Diboll’s Jacoby Spencer, Nick Cortines and Alex Castillo had outstanding play.
15-year-old Callie Shivers, daughter of Mike & Rhonda Shivers of Diboll, graduates from modeling school in Houston.
Diboll High School Dazzlers Dance Team participates and wins medals at the American Drill-Dance Team Camp in The Woodlands. Those team members include Lacy Burchfield, Callie Shivers, Samantha Dove, Chelsei Harper and Roaslinda Oliveres.

Ten Years Ago
Diboll’s Kenneth Capps retires from the fiberboard plant at Temple-Inland after 44 years of dedicated service.
City of Diboll receives state sales tax rebate check in the amount of $28,957 for July. Th amount 41% lower than the one received from the state last July when it was $49,413.
Dr. Billy Bowman, former Lufkin ISD/Diboll ISD educator who now serves as superintendent of schools at the Santa Gertrud School Dtrict near Kingsville, chosen as one of 40 U.S. educators to attend the sixth annual Oxford Roundtable in Oxford, England.
Fifty-Seven Huntington High School alumni from the classes of 1938-1942 attend annual reunion held at Huntington Baptt Church. Fun, food and fellowship enjoyed by all.
Rod Lindgren, who has served as asstant principal at Central High School named principal at that school

Twenty Years Ago
Angelina College board of trustees adopt long-range campus plan which includes the possibility of a new technology vocation center, new fine arts center, expanded athletic facilities, child care teaching lab and the re-routing of Daniel McCall Drive by year 2000.
Angelina County Treasurer Joan Denby says transfers of the county’s money from one fund to another have taken place without her knowledge and that investing of county monies should not be by-passing her office.
Employees from Temple-Inland Diboll Lumber Operation participate in the 1993 annual Southern Pine Inspection Bureau Grading Contests held in Buna. Medalts are Manuel Concha, Jerry Bamburg, Jorge Moreno, Jose Serratos and Jose Chavez.
First Assembly of God Church in Diboll celebrates its 40th anniversary with special memorial service. Founder of the church A.K. Johnson.
Attending Flag Camp th week are Diboll High School’s Jennifer Sweeny, Robin Barger, Tonya Bowman, Sonya Reyes, Chasity Smith, Susan Wilbanks and Stephanie Cavazos.

Thirty Years Ago
Diboll Dixie Major League All-Star Team includes Joe Guidry, Armando Cruz, Dan Dubose, Darwin Smith, Jose Cruz, Jeff Bearden, Regg Dav, Kevin Hurley, Elbert Blake, Clay Dubose, Andy Gossett and Coaches Ervin Dubose and Mark Dubose.
Nine Dibollians are preparing for msion trip to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Group includes Martha Jenkins, Bill Massey, Joanna Williams, Amy Williams, Charles Middlekauf, Nancy Miller, Elizabeth Deen Dorothy Brown and Bro. Oliver Deen.
Dave Campbell’s Texas Football Magazine rates Lumberjacks #9 in state Class 3A and picks the Jacks to win Dtrict 18-3A title.
Nelda Kilgore wins rubber raft in Coca-Cola promotion held at Brookshire Bros. in Diboll.
Temple-Eastex’s Big Tin Barn sets new safety record for going 5 years without a lost-time accident. Diboll’s Big Tin Barn Manager Leroy Lazarine cites “organized safety program’ as the reason for an outstanding safety record.